top of page
  • Writer's pictureonetimothy412

Answering the Call


On February 28, 2023, two things happened. I listened to a demographer talk about the explosive growth in the population of Texas and the urgent need for a new strategy to reach our state. Then I heard about the Finishing the Task (FTT) movement, the global church's desire to increase Bible access, prayer, church planting, and witnessing in recognition of the 2000 anniversary of the death and resurrection of Jesus and the founding of the church. God tucked both of those ideas into my heart and mind and I began to pray about them.

On March 2, 2023, while on our family's ski trip celebrating my birthday, I woke up having a very specific dream about talking to Rick Warren about FTT. It was clear that this was not an ordinary dream, but a vision, an inspiration. God has led me a couple of times in this way, so I was obedient.

Along the way to Rick, I talked to my friend Elijah, Executive Director of the Baptist World Alliance. I talked to Julio Guarneri, then President of Texas Baptists and now the Executive Director of Texas Baptists. They both encouraged me. God kept putting friends in my path pointing me forward.

Eventually, I flew to Los Angeles and met with Rick. It was awkward telling him about my vision, but I knew he was a person who could understand it. After talking for several minutes he stopped and asked me, "Where are you from again?" I told him, "I pastor First Baptist Church, Athens, Texas." He got a faraway look and then responded. "In 1968, the pastor from First Baptist Church Athens, Texas came to California and preached in my home church. I was young (about 14) and he made a big impact on my life. His name was Curtis . . . " I said, "Mathis." He jumped back in, "That's right, Curtis Mathis."

We looked at each other in recognition of the moment. 55 years before, God had connected Rick to our church. He looked at me and said, "I believe God has sent you here. Would you serve on the FTT team?" I said, "Yes."

Almost immediately, I made plans to travel with the team to Amsterdam and then the BWA meeting in Norway. Since that time, God has been working to get me ready to step down from the pastorate, the job He designed me to do. It has been a bit of a wrestling match, but it is now clear that I have a new assignment. On Wed. Feb, 7, upon returning from our Biblical trip to Turkey, I resigned as Pastor of First Baptist, Athens effective Sun March 10. It was a step of faith.

On Wednesday, March 6, 2024, the Baptist World Alliance approved a new strategic plan connected to the 2033 Movement. They also created a new position, Director of Forward33. Finally, they named me to the position. I will immediately begin to serve the BWA. In that role I will serve as a liaison to FTT. A grant will pay my salary and expenses for the next three years. During that time, I will need to raise money and support to extend the job beyond that point. In addition, I will be seeking churches and individuals to join the 2033 Movement by making a suggested annual donation of $2033 or $203.30 per year. 100% of the money raised will go to 2033 projects (my support will happen later and through designated gifts).

I leave on my first assignment on March 13 to the HIM Conference in Hawaii where I will teach 2 sessions on March 15 of the Healthy Church Course. Rick will teach two sessions and three other team members will also be teaching. It is free to stream if you want to join. Then I will be traveling to LA (the headquarters of FTT) and Falls Church, Virginia (the headquarters of the BWA) several times this spring. I will be traveling to Lagos, Nigeria this summer and to Korea in September. It will be a busy time. I covet your prayers.

I took this picture on the beach of Troas where Paul was asked to leave his plans behind for the new thing God was calling him to do. He was asked to walk into the unknown and away from the people and places he knew. I feel like I am standing in such a moment. I'm appropriately frightened and amazingly excited. I can't wait to share the journey with you all.

199 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page