top of page
  • Writer's pictureonetimothy412

Day One. New Job



I arrived for my first assignment in Hawaii. The sky was overcast, not what I expected for Hawaii. I found out that the host of the conference had emergency Gallbladder surgery today while we were in the air. I encountered a terrible accident on the way to the airport.


I caught an Uber from the airport to my hotel. We loaded my bag into the back and I hopped into the front. We fell into a quick Q&A.

Uber Driver: Have you been here before?

Me: Yes, several times. Once when I was 10 years old. Several time since then.

Uber Driver: You here for pleasure? Work?

Me: I came to a conference.

Uber: What kind?

Me: Its the HIM conference - Hawaiian Island Ministry.

Uber: Is that Christian?

Me: Yes, it's pastors from around the islands. I told him about 2033 and our desire to impact the world.

Uber: Do you mind if I ask you some questions?

Me: No, go for it.

Uber: Where do you Christians get your system from?

Me: I talk to him about the historical evidence for the existence of Jesus . . .

Uber: He lived 2000 years ago?

Me: I talk to him about the dating system and the birth of Jesus.

Uber: But aren't those only internal evidences, how do you really know he existed?

Me: I talk to him about the evidences outside of the Bible, Roman historians, Josephus . I tell him about the book that helped me, "More than a Carpenter."

Uber: Why did you become a Christian?

Me: I shared my testimony with him. The love of Jesus, the plan of salvation.

Uber: Well, here we are, thanks for answering my questions.

Me: I gave him my new business card and told him if he had more questions, I would love to talk.


I walked into the hotel. It was the same hotel my family stayed in 52 years ago. It was just about 6 months before I became a Christian.


It was a great day.

68 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page